VSCC Celebrate the Past Season's Successes at Chateau Impney

Friday 27 March 2015

Last weekend was very busy here at Chateau Impney as we welcomed the Vintage Sports-Car Club, one of the Hill Climb's Associated Clubs, to the hotel for their Annual General Meeting, Awards Dinner and Marshals' Dinner on Friday 20 and Saturday 21 March.

The VSCC has provided an arena for people to enjoy pre-war cars both competitively and socially for more than 80 years. Today, it is one of the largest and best regarded motoring clubs in the world. Their weekend at the Chateau was an opportunity for members to continue that heritage and celebrate their fellow motorsport enthusiasts’ achievements over the past year.

Robert Cobden holds the Historic Racing Trophy aloft at VSCC Awards Dinner, Chateau Impney Hill Climb, Droitwich

Louise Bunting receives another trophy from Tom Pellow at VSCC Awards Dinner, Chateau Impney Hill Climb, Droitwich

The weekend kicked off in style on the Friday with a three-course dinner, interspersed with the presentation of the Club’s collection of over 120 historic trophies throughout the evening. Inter-marque rivalry was the theme of the night, particularly between the Frazer Nash and Riley representatives who cheered loudly and waved flags as the winners were announced. The Club’s most prestigious award, the Lycett Memorial Trophy, was the last to be presented and went to Simon Blakeney-Edwards for gaining most points during the year. Popular winner Simon will also be competing in his Frazer Nash Super Sports at the Chateau Impney Hill Climb in July.

Author Tom Pellow signs another copy of the new VSCC Book, Chateau Impney Hill Climb, Droitwich

The evening also saw the official launch of the Club’s new book, A Portrait of the Vintage Sports-Car Club, 1934-2014, written by Guest of Honour, Tom Pellow, who discussed the book in more detail after dinner with MC and celebrated commentator, Ian Titchmarsh.

A fantastic attendance at the VSCC AGM, Chateau Impney Hill Climb, Droitwich

A successful and well-attended club AGM followed on the Saturday morning with the Marshals’ Forum in the afternoon, focusing on spectator and media safety at motoring events.

Saturday evening’s Marshals’ Dinner proved the perfect conclusion to a busy weekend, with almost 200 marshals enjoying dinner followed by the presentation of the club’s marshalling trophies. Winners on the night included Anne Beckett, who received the David Payne Memorial Trophy for race/speed events, and Angela Jones, who collected the Don Grose Memorial Trophy for non-speed events.

Angela Jones receives the Don Grose Memorial Trophy from Thelma Grose at the VSCC Marshals Dinner, Chateau Impney Hill Climb, Droitwich

We were delighted to host the VSCC at the home of the Chateau Impney Hill Climb over the course of the weekend and send our congratulations to all the deserving award winners.

You can view the full list of 2014 VSCC Annual Award winners by clicking the button below.

Images provided courtesy of Peter McFadyen and the VSCC Archive. 



to the top